Weekly Menu

We’re getting some white winter weather here in Pennsylvania and I can’t help but say I love it.  Since the snow was expected all day long Saturday, I ended up planning my menu for the week on Friday and heading to the store right after work. 

–  We didn’t get to the chili last week, so it got bumped to the menu for this week.  Sweet cornbread will be included again. 

Szechwan Chicken and Shrimp.  This is something that I absolutely love and what I usually order at Chinese restaurants.  If you have never eaten Szechwan anything, be warned – it is spicy.  On Chinese menus there is usually a chili pepper sign next to it. 

– Baked Salmon and Old BayShrimp with sweet potatoes and salad.  Have you ever used Old Bay seasoning?  It is a staple for those of us that grew up in the Mid Atlantic states.  They even sell Old Bay seasoned potato chips.  In regards to salmon, that is for my husband.  He told me some things about salmon, he is a fisheries PhD student, and ever since then I have not been able to stomach it.  I will not tell you anything he told me just because I want you to eat the nutritious fish. 

– Meatball subs with oven fries.  I made these in the past for a recipe challenge, but I think I may try a new recipe this time.  We also used these only for meatball subs so this time it might be a good idea to freeze some to use in spaghetti.  For oven fries, I simply use regular baking potatoes.  Slice them into 1/4 to 1/2 inch slices (think similar to steak fries).  Season them with onion salt, garlic powder and a little dash of paprika.  If you want, dice some onion, green pepper and garlic and toss it all with one to two tablespoons of olive oil.  Bake at 400 for 55 minutes turning once.  Mmm. 

-Finally, I am making a mexican inspired recipe from Cooking Light.  Yes, Mexican and Cooking Light.  Crazy.  My current town really lacks in good Mexican food, so I do anything to make authentic tasting Mexican food.  Here is to hoping that this Chicken Tamale Casserole is tasty.

 

I don’t have any sweet treats in line for this week, but I am preparing for hosting a baby shower next week so I am open to any suggestions for appetizers  and sweets.  Any suggestions?

One thought on “Weekly Menu

Leave a Reply

