Spinach Artichoke Dip

spinach-artichoke-dip

When I first started trying new recipes on my own, this is one that I created for a bridal shower.  Dips seem like a shower or party type food but something I rarely make to have on hand at home for just my husband and I.  I wanted a cold spinach and artichoke dip, nothing that had to be baked or kept warm.   I prefer to start with fresh spinach and let it cook down with the other ingredients rather than use frozen, but I am sure that if you drain and defrost frozen spinach appropriately, you could use frozen. 

This dip is best after it has refrigerated overnite or at least for several hours.  The flavors seem very simple but after setting overnite, they become better and better.  I like to use a pita cracker or multigrain cracker.  I have been using the Nabisco Toasted Chips – Wheat Thins in multigrain flavor.  I prefer to stick to a plain cracker as the dip has lots of flavor. 

Ingredients

1 – 8 oz pkg cream cheese (softened)

1- 16 oz sour cream

1 – 10 oz jar/can of marinated artichoke hearts (in oil or water is fine since they are drained prior to cooking

4 cloves of garlic (diced)

1 – 6 oz bag spinach (baby or regular)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

 

1. In a medium bowl mix softened cream cheese and sour cream until smooth – set aside.

2. Heat a medium sauce pan to medium heat.  Drain and rough chop the artichokes and add to the pan.  Add garlic.  

3. Begin rough chopping the spinach, being sure to remove any exceptionally long stems that you may see.  They will cook down, so it is not essential that you get each and every one.   Add chopped spinach to pan and allow to cook down for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally.  The spinach will reduce down incredibly. 

4. Allow the spinach, artichoke and garlic mixture to cool for about ten minutes.  Add cooled ingredients to sour cream and cream cheese mixture.  Add all but one or two tablespoons of Parmesan cheese and mix.  Top with remaining Parmesan for decoration. 

5. Place in fridge overnite or for several hours to cool. 

 

Be sure to take this to someones home or it will tempt you will eat much more than intended. 

 

Notes:  

I use reduced fat cream cheese and light sour cream and the dish is still mighty tasty.   I am not sure about how fat free items would work. 

I prefer to use fresh grated Parmesan cheese because it seems have a better flavor and be softer in the dip. If you only have shaker parmesean around, feel free to add some of that. 

One thought on “Spinach Artichoke Dip

  1. I’ve been waiting for a new recipe! Yay! I have most of these ingredients at home right now so I can’t wait to make it. Just have to wait until my veggie detox is over (3 more days!). Thanks.

Leave a Reply

