Oven Roasted Potatoes

 

I love potatoes.  Mashed, fried, baked, roasted.  Red, white, yellow, I even hear there are purple.   New, Yukon, Russet, Idaho.  I don’t discriminate against any of them.  I like fried diced red potatoes with onion as a breakfast side.  Mashed potatoes with a crockpot chicken is delicious.  My mouth is watering.  I must focus on the potato above.  Oven roasted.  These potatoes are simple and no fuss.  A simple side that could compliment any dinner from burgers to a roast.  If you want, change the spices to your preference.  Add green peppers and onions for a bit more flavor. 

Oven Roasted Potatoes – adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

3 lbs potatoes of choice
2 tbsp olive oil or butter
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
1 clove garlic diced
1/4 cup onion diced (1 small)
1/4 tsp oregano

1. Scrub and chop potatoes into desired size.  If using red or new potatoes, chop into quarters or sixth.  If using larger baking potatoes chop into 1 inch cubes.

2.  Toss in 13×9 baking dish with olive oil and herbs.  Arrange in one layer

3. Bake, uncovered, at 450 degrees for 50 minutes or until potatoes are fork tender. 

* I cut my potatoes into steak fry wedges.  If you want your potatoes to have more of a crispy taste, allow to bake for an additional 15-25 minutes, tossing after the original 50 minute baking time.

3 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Potatoes

  1. Purple potatos are awesome. I’ve grown them in my garden the last two years It’s fun to have purple french fries and mashed potatoes. The kids love it!

    Enjoying your site. Keep up the good work!

    P.S. I love potatoes too. My nickname from my dad is Tater. 😉

Leave a Reply

