What the schnitzel?

He he.  I am still laughing about my title.  So glad I can entertain myself. 
Two or three years ago, I was browsing a Cooking Light magazine and this chicken recipe popped out at me.  It seemed like a way to cook chicken that I had never heard of before. In that time, I still have never had any schnitzel besides this recipe.  I imagine that as tasty as this recipe is, the full fat version must be over the top. 
Don’t be scared by fact that you may have no clue what schnitzel is.  This recipe seems to be an adaptation of a parm crusted chicken.  And if you are a non mustard fan like myself, again do not be afraid. I don’t like mustard, let alone strong and potent ones like dijon.  But this recipe?  Does not lead you astray.    The chicken ends up incredibly tender and moist yet has just enough crispy crust to make your mouth water. 
Chicken Schnitzel (serves 2)- adapted from Cooking Light
 
1 large chicken breast or 2 small
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black ground pepper
2 tbsp flour
2 tbsp dijon mustard
1 large egg blended
1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs
1 1/2 tbsp fresh parm
2 tsp parsley
2 tsp chives chopped (I use regular onion)
1 garlic clove
1 tbsp olive oil
 
1. Preheat oven to 350
2.  Place chicken between two sheets of plastic wrap and pound to 1/2 inch thickness.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper
3. Place flour in shallow dish.  Combine mustard and egg in seperate shallow dish.  In another dish, combine breadcrumbs, parm, parsley, garlic and onion. 
4.  Dredge chicken in flour then dip in egg mixture.  Dredge in breadcrumb mixture. 
5. Heat oil in large skillet.  Add chicken and saute until browned on each side.   (3 minutes approx per side)
6.  Place chicken on baking sheet and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes until cooked through.
 
 
 
Serve this with a salad and some red potatoes and it is scrumptious!!!  You could change recipe by using pork or even turkey cutlets. 
3 thoughts on “What the schnitzel?

Leave a Reply

