Soft Sugar Cookies

 

These are perhaps the best sugar cookies that I have ever made.  I could have simply frozen the dough in small balls and tossed it in ice cream, it was that good.  There was several spoonfuls of dough that never even made it to the oven.  Last year I tried Pioneer Woman’s sugar cookies and I have to say that I thought they were a big old failure. The flavor was very good. But the texture and the brittleness of the cookie was so frustrating.

These, from Jenny over at Picky Palate, are perfect.  Soft, moist, easy to roll out and cut and they have stayed moist for four days already.  I should eat more to ensure that they are still moist. 

I made these for the sad and pitiful Tennessee Football party that we held on Monday and everyone kept asking where I bought them.  I think that is one of the biggest compliments that you could recieve.  Someone could think that they were good enough that you could never make them at home. 

I started with Jenny’s recipe and did not alter it a bit.  I debated adding some orange zest since I was making this an orange themed dessert.  Instead I made Paula Dean’s orange cream cheese icing.  I edited her recipe a bit by adding about one and a half more cups of powdered sugar and food coloring to make the icing orange colored.  I did have one person comment that they thought the icing was Easy Cheese because of the color, so perhaps next time I should make the icing even oranger.  I didn’t want to frighten anyone with florescent orange icing but next time I just might! 

 

Paula’s icing could be altered to any fruit flavor you might like, think grapefruit, lemon, lime or even strawberry.  But as is, these were a hit and I have finally found a sugar cookie recipe that I think could beat out any other out there.

4 thoughts on “Soft Sugar Cookies

  1. I’m so glad you started this food blog! I am always going to hot from the furnace to see what new recipes you put up. There’s so many I want to try and its inspiring. Thanks!

  2. Wow, what a surprise to see my cookies here! I am so glad that you enjoyed them. They are by far the best sugar cookies I’ve had too. Thanks for sharing! I just joined Blissfully Delish too. Talk to you soon!

    Picky Palate

  3. Pingback: Marshmallow Fondant « eatsandtreats.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

