Whip it Up: Rellenos Editon

Mmm. Spicy. Chicken. Cheese.

For this week’s Whip It Up Recipe, I went back to old faithful. Old faithful being my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook. A coworker and I have decided that this is the cookbook that everyone should get when they first start to cook. This recipe is probably not one that you would expect from good old BHG. Baked Chicken Chiles Rellenos is tasty. And pretty darn easy. The recipe on the web is different from what is in my cookbook, so I am not linking, but will post the recipe.
My review:
This is a recipe that I have come across several times when I am trying to figure out what to make for that week’s dinners but I have never made it for whatever reason. I can now tell you that I should have made this several years ago and it is now in our rotation.
This recipe is easy peasy and can be modified for large or small groups really easily. Plus it says it is low fat! Damn Skippy.
I would personally make the chicken a little spicier by perhaps adding more chiles or more ground red pepper to the flour mixture. But if you are anti spice, you could leave it be and be satisfied.

Baked Chicken Chiles Rellenos – Better Homes and Gardens
Recipe for 6 – I scaled mine down for two people
6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1/2 cup of flour
3 tbsp cornmeal
1/4 tsp ground red pepper
1 egg
1 tbsp water
1 – 4 ounce can whole green chiles, rinsed seeded and cut in half lengthwise (I use diced green chiles that I had on hand)
2 ounces of Monterey Jack cheese, cut into six 2 x 1.2 inch sticks ( I used Pepperjack)
2 tbsp cilantro or parsley (I used the ever tasteless parsley since husband hates cilantro)
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tbsp butter
1 8 ounce jar of salsa (I omited purely by accident)
1. Flatten chicken to 1/8 thick. That is really dang thin. really. Here is my mashed chicken.
2. Combine flour, cornmeal and red pepper in shallow dish. Combine egg and water in seperate shallow dish.

3. For each roll, place a chile pepper half (or some of the diced chiles in my case) on the chicken near an end. Place a stick of cheese on the chile pepper. Using the cheesesticks that my husband likes to take in his lunch worked great for this, I just simply cut it in half. Sprinkle with parsley and pepper. Fold in sides (I didn’t have to do this since I had cut my chicken after smashing the heck out of it.) Start with edge with cheese and chile pepper and roll up. Secure with toothpick.

4. Dip chicken rolls into egg mixture. This was tricky since there was a toothpick in it. Improvise. Then coat with flour and cornmeal mixture. Place rolls, seam side down into baking pan. Drizzle with butter. Apparently still low fat since you use so little butter?

5. Bake uncovered at 375 for 25-30 minutes.

Apparently this is the point I put the cookbook back in the cupboard. It is suggested that you warm salsa to pour overtop at this point, but I did not. I intended to make a mexican rice with this but had a can of Fiesta Nacho Cheese soup that I bought several months ago for a quesadilla recipe on the back. I cooked some regular whole wheat rice and mixed about half of the can into it. It was nice and spicy, so I warn you if you do this, IT IS SPICY. We liked the soup and rice mix as much as the chicken rellenos.

4 thoughts on “Whip it Up: Rellenos Editon

  1. Look delicious! I have the same old BHG cookbook that my mom found for me at a thrift store after I first got married. I’ll have to look through and find this recipe. Thanks for the tips!

Leave a Reply

