Chocolate Chip Cookies- a way to get fat fast!

Things have been a bit crazy in the Furnace household. We went away this weekend to celebrate our 730 days. It was awesome combined with the worse butt ache I have ever had. But that is another post all in itself. On Sunday we drove home, only to turn around and drive 2.5 hours to a two person funeral on Monday. I am back at work today and boooo.
In order to have our weekend away, we had to leave our poor puppy dog at Brooks’ boss’s house. Apparently it was difficult on our pup who has separation anxiety. He did not sleep the entire weekend and did not wake once at home except to raise his head to look at us when the door opened and shut, perhaps in fear that we were leaving again.

To thank the boss and family for watching Laramie, my favorite chocolate chip cookies were given as a donation. Ummm, what else do you give people when you are poor? FOOD!

So as a gift to you all, I give you my absolute favorite chocolate chip cookies. Brooks, who doesn’t like chocolate chip cookies (freak, how did I marry him?) loves these. So let that attest to their scrumptiousness.

Giant Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt (I like Kosher for pops of salty)
3/4 cup butter (softened, either to room temp or in microwave for 30 – 40 secs)
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1.5 cups chocolate chips (I like to mix it up and use mini chips and regular sized ones for maximium chippiness)

Preheat oven to 325

-sift flour, baking soda, salt – set aside

-cream softened butter, brown sugar, white sugar

-beat in vanilla, egg and egg yolk until light and creamy
-mix in sifted ingredients until just blended. To me, this means that there is still a little bit of flour on the edges of the bowl and probably just a few spots of unblended ingredients here and there.

-mix in chips by hand . Like I said in the ingredients list, I like to use both mini and regular sized chips.

-drop by 1/4 cup increments about 2 inches apart. I like to use those useless big spoons you get with a set of silverware and use that as my “scoop”. Here is an estimate of how big I make mine.

-bake 17 minutes, cool on baking sheets a few minutes then move to wire racks
I love these warm with a huge cup of cold milk!
7 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies- a way to get fat fast!

  1. They look yummy! Also, my dogs literally ignore us for days when we pick them up from the kennel or from friends when we leave them. Such hard lives!

  2. Oh my word – those look incredible. I’ve been craving chocolate chip cookies (let’s be honest – when am I not?), so I guess I’ll have to try these this week!

  3. YUM. Did you see the NYT article last week about chocolate chip cookies? They had one with a sprinkle of sea salt ON TOP, which, to me, sounds like sweet-and-salty HEAVEN.

  4. I adore chocolate chip cookies and all things mini. Why have I never thought to put mini chocolate chips in my cookies before? Genius!

Leave a Reply

